763876D4-A54C-4BD6-98AB-007A302C6B25_edi
BIO

Nino Wenger is a saxophone player and composer from Zurich, Switzerland. As a saxophonist, he has performed with artists such as Chris Cheek, Rich Perry, Alan Ferber, Jorge Rossy, Guillermo Klein, Dave Pietro, Roman Schwaller and Adrian Mears. He is a member of the band Linntett, the Guillaume Muller Quartet, the Yuri Storione Quartet and the band No Rain. As a bandleader, composer and arranger, he leads his own quartet as well as the bands The Mingus Project and High Voltage.

Nino made his recording debut with the band Reasom and its single Album Muito Pouco in 2013. In the following year, he recorded albums with the Lukas von Flüe Quartett and the Lucerne based collectives Discosaster and Odd Dog. In 2016, in addition to recording his first live album with his own quartet Der Fall, he appeared on Kira Linn’s debut album Nature, receiving critical acclaim. After moving to New York in 2018, he was featured on Guillaume Muller’s album Sketches of Sound and recorded New York Diary with his newly formed quartet. Nino will also appear on Kira Linn’s upcoming album A Traveler's Tale, which will feature Jorge Rossy and Domenic Landolf and Francesco Losavio's new album Turn.

Nino obtained his Bachelor of Arts in Music degree at Hochschule

Lucerne and then moved to Nuremberg, where he absolved his

master studies in Jazz Performance at the Hochschule für Musik.

After that, he decided to do masters programm in instrumental

pedagogy at the Jazz Campus Basel, which he finished in 2018. In the

following year, Nino won the Fulbright Scholarship of the American Government, which allowed him to earn an Artist Diploma in Jazz Performance at New York University. During his education, he studied saxophone and composition with Mark Turner, Jorge Rossy, Larry Grenadier, Adam Rogers, Guillermo Klein and Michael Wolff. Nino won 1st prize at the Bruno Rother Jazz Competition and the NYU Promising Artist Series 2019. Furthermore, he is an elected participant of the 2012 DKJS Allstar-Bigband and the 2016 jazz ensemble Generations.

763876D4-A54C-4BD6-98AB-007A302C6B25_edi
BIO

Nino Wenger ist ein Saxophonist und Komponist aus Zürich, Schweiz. Als Saxophonist trat er mit Künstlern wie Chris Cheek, Rich Perry, Alan Ferber, Jorge Rossy, Guillermo Klein, Dave Pietro, Roman Schwaller und Adrian Mears auf. Er ist Mitglied der Band Linntett, des Guillaume Muller Quartetts, des Yuri Storione Quartetts und der Band No Rain. Als Bandleader, Komponist und Arrangeur leitet er sein eigenes Quartett sowie die Bands The Mingus Project und High Voltage.

Nino gab 2013 sein Debüt mit der Band Reasom und ihrem Single-Album Muito Pouco. Im folgenden Jahr entstanden Alben mit dem Lukas von Flüe Quartett und den in Luzern ansässigen Kollektiven Discosaster und Odd Dog. 2016 nahm er nicht nur sein erstes Live-Album mit seinem eigenen Quartett Der Fall auf, sondern erschien auch auf Kira Linns Debütalbum Nature, das sehr gute Kritiken erntete. Nachdem er 2018 nach New York gezogen war, spielte er auf Guillaume Mullers Album Sketches of Sound und nahm mit seinem neu gegründeten Quartett New York Diary auf. Nino wird auch auf Kira Linns neuem Album A Traveller's Tale feat. Domenic Landolf and Jorge Rossy und Francesco Losavios neuem Album Turn zu hören sein.

Nino erhielt seinen Bachelor of Arts in Musik an der Hochschule Luzern

und zog dann nach Nürnberg, wo er sein Masterstudium in Jazz

Performance an der Hochschule für Musik absolvierte. Danach

entschloss er sich für ein Masterprogramm in Instrumental Pädagogik am

Jazz Campus Basel, das er 2018 abschloss. Im folgenden Jahr gewann Nino das Fulbright-Stipendium der amerikanischen Regierung, durch das er ein Artist Diploma in Jazz Performance an der New York University erwerben konnte. Während seiner Ausbildung studierte er Saxophon und Komposition bei Mark Turner, Jorge Rossy, Larry Grenadier, Adam Rogers, Guillermo Klein und Michael Wolff. Nino gewann den 1. Preis beim Bruno Rother Jazz Wettbewerb und der NYU Promising Artist Series 2019. Außerdem ist er gewählter Teilnehmer der DKJS Allstar-Bigband 2012 und des Jazzensembles Generations 2016.